2006 British 24 Hour Operational Ration pack Menu #2 Review

Reviews of rations from abroad - British ration packs, EPA, IMP, RCIR, etc.
cavguy

2006 British 24 Hour Operational Ration pack Menu #2 Review

Post by cavguy » Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:28 pm

A little about my background before we begin; I am a Army combat veteran who has served in primarily light infantry units. However most of my combat experience is as a mounted crew member of a light wheeled vehicle. So in other words I have an iron stomach and can eat just about anything and I know a little about Military rations.

So today for review we have a 2006 British 24 Hour ORP this is menu #2. Everything seems to be packed in 2006 according to the date codes.

This ration includes the following items I have broken down as Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner according to my personal Preference.

Ration Contents Picture

Accessory Pack

Contents: Black tea X 4, Sugar X 4, Water purification tablets, Whitener X 6, Coffee X 2, Gum and Matches.

For Breakfast I ate; Bacon Omelette and Beans, Hot cocoa and a Oatmeal block

My thoughts; The main meal was very delicious it does however taste different than what we usually eat for breakfast in the USA kind of like a mix between beanie weenies with the older MRE omelette with ham. The hot cocoa is also very rich and sugary much better than the MRE counterpart. The oatmeal block is also very good and very sweet it reminds me of a standard oatmeal cookie. This breakfast left me very full!

For Lunch I ate; Cream Of Tomato Soup (This had MSG added), 3ea Brown Biscuits, 3ea Fruit Biscuits, Chicken & Herb Pate, Black Tea and Berry Combo Fruit Grains.